Prodigies: A Basic Fantasy Supplement

Creating game materials? Monsters, spells, classes, adventures? This is the place!
Hackworthy

Prodigies: A Basic Fantasy Supplement

Post by Hackworthy »

I had a little idea I've been brainstorming for a bit. It has, as yet, received no real play-testing and it's my first time submitting anything to you guys so hopefully formatting and stuff is right. I wanted to make a class that was inspired to some extent by the innate caster classes of later editions of DnD (Bards, Sorcerers, Favored Souls, etc). The source of this innate magic is very vaguely defined leaving it to the GM and player to decide for themselves where it comes from. My hope for this class, once it's been properly calibrated, is to provide a class which is extremely versatile and interesting to play but which is carefully balanced with the 4 base classes. I'd like to get some feedback on this because I can't really tell if it's too powerful or not powerful enough. I intend to do some play-testing when I have the time. One of my main concerns right now is the progression, especially in terms of XP. As it stands the class uses the Magic-User XP progression, saves and AB. I'm not sure if that is appropriate but that's what I've done for now. Please, take a look.

I cut some flavor justifying their low hit die and explaining how people who manifest magical abilities as children would be dealt with in most societies. I also had an addendum about how the this class interacts with the 0-Level Spells and New Spells supplements. It caused there to be a second page with just one paragraph and that just looks bad to me. Not sure what to do about that.
Attachments
BF-Prodigy Supplement-R1.odt
(31.61 KiB) Downloaded 251 times
Hackworthy

Re: Prodigies: A Basic Fantasy Supplement

Post by Hackworthy »