New class: Umbra Ward (Shadow Ranger)

Creating game materials? Monsters, spells, classes, adventures? This is the place!
BillTheButcher

New class: Umbra Ward (Shadow Ranger)

Post by BillTheButcher »

Hey Everyone,
This is my first time posting i think, but have been lurking about for a long while.
I've been working on a small BFRPG fanzine and other OSR stuff with my start up company Machination Game Designs. In the first issue i have a Ranger/Assassin hybrid called a Umbra Ward (Shadow Ranger). I'd love some feedback and thoughts. If everyone enjoys the design i'd love to submit it, Thanks in Advance.
Attachments
Umbra Wards .pdf
(61.03 KiB) Downloaded 282 times
Bill Sterns (Creative Design, Machination Game Designs)
RecklessRoleplayer

Re: feedback on a new class

Post by RecklessRoleplayer »

Hey Bill, welcome to the forums!

I like this class as a concept but atm it has quite a few things I think should be looked into.

First in foremost, what class does it attack as? My guess would be Fighter given the Saves you've attached but that's good to clarify.
Secondly would be the EXP points to level up, atm it's far too high. I know it's the Ranger numbers but given the lower hit die and the lack of chosen enemy + not having the amazing bow bonus of Ranger I would definitely match it with the base Fighter EXP or less.

Thirdly and my main thing is locking off Poisons until third level, and restricting dipping the weapons till 5th. Given that this is stated to be for Basic Fantasy this really sticks out like a sore thumb as being really weird.
Never once is this poison restriction given to the assassin, rather it's attached to a skill percentage which is much more consistent with other classes. As this reads now it's just you always fail, then as of 3rd level you can and will always success, which is potentially game breaking given the typical poison premade is meant to cost roughly 500gp.