Newbie Players (Kids) and LARGE party HELP!

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
Koren_nRhys

Newbie Players (Kids) and LARGE party HELP!

Post by Koren_nRhys »

Greetings all!

Here's my situation, and I'm hoping you fine folks can give me some advice. I have been cajoled into running a game for the new-to-RPGs children of a few of the players in my usual Tuesday night group (where I'm a player, not DM). Three adults, with a couple of kids each - possibly a forth adult and his son also. If everyone shows up for a given session, it'll be a dozen players give or take - double what I'd prefer to deal with. They've asked me to do it though, since I have some experience running for younger kids, having done it with my own 4-5 years back.

As I've mentioned in another thread here, the system will be BFRPG, to keep everything simple and Classic/OSR compatible. It has just the right blend of B/X plus modern elements that will be easy to run and play.

I intend to set things in the old TSR Thunder Rift setting since it's nice and self-contained, and with a base in town, I can have a mission central where they can hear rumors and stories and choose from a few adventure options without the full openness of a true sandbox. I'm looking for tips on handling that number of players first off, and adventure ideas, pointers to written modules, etc that might work for a low-level, high-player count game.

My thoughts are to try and keep things outside as much as possible - open terrain will allow everyone to be involved in combat. I think virtually any dungeon would be too confining for so many. So, open ruins with multiple points of access, a few cave/cavern locations. Forest clearings, open moors, swamps and so on.

Ideas?

[crossposted to a few other forums for maximum feedback...]
Hywaywolf

Re: Newbie Players (Kids) and LARGE party HELP!

Post by Hywaywolf »