House Rules, Ideas and the Like

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
MacLeod

House Rules, Ideas and the Like

Post by MacLeod »

Hello everyone! :D

I am new to BFRPG but I really like what I see. The game is just begging to be hacked! :)

So I have a few ideas of my own, the prominent and game-changing of which would be Skills and Feats.
Don't get angry yet, these aren't the 3.X- or 4e-styled Skills/Feats but my only lil' attempt at a simple system driven greatly by input of those at the table.

I would like feedback, critical and otherwise...

Skills
Actions not tied to other mechanics in the game are now tied to this Skill system. Skills are linked to a specific Ability Score(s) but may be used with any Ability Score those at the table agree to. Whenever a character attempts to perform an action that falls under the purview of a Skill, he rolls D20 and compares the result to the appropriate Ability Score. If the result is equal to or less than the Ability Score, success is achieved. 1 is always a success while 20 is always a failure.
  • Difficulty
    The GM may modify the Ability Score for the duration of the Skill Check, often in increments of +2/-2 based on how difficult he believes the action to be. Difficulty can come from the simple fact that an action requires specific training and anyone attempting guesswork has to be very lucky. For instance, a Fighter attempting to disarm a trap with the Devices Skill would likely require a penalty of a decent value.
  • Gaining Skills
    PCs begin with Skill bonuses based on their Race and Class. Additionally, every Level allows the character to gain a +1 on one Skill. Skills that have bonuses applied to them increase the appropriate Ability Score during Skill Checks. Skills may not be increased beyond +5.
  • Race Skills
    Each Race begins with certain Skills…
    Dwarf +1 Athletics
    Elf +1 Perceptions
    Halfling +1 Stealth
    Human Choose 1 Skill at +1
  • Class Skills