New to Basic Fantasy

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
xevenwood

New to Basic Fantasy

Post by xevenwood »

Hey there! I'm xevenwood. I just joined the forums and wanted to introduce myself. I'm pretty new to Basic Fantasy and other OSR games. I started playing tabletop games and TTRPGs about 5 or 6 years ago, so I'm no veteran of the genre either. Is there any recommendations for a new GM, and new players? My group is used to playing games like D&D 5e if that helps.

Also, what posts should I look at in regards to creating game content? I'm looking to adapt my fantasy writings into adventure modules and source books, and like how open Basic Fantasy is for people to access and play.

Thanks,

xevenwood
Metroknight

Re: New to Basic Fantasy

Post by Metroknight »

First thing is to remember that BFRPG and other OSR systems are more lethal than 5e. Stress to your players that running away from an encounter or avoiding the encounter is a totally valid action to do. If they do choose to go into combat, they need to be sure to weight the odds to their favor such as range attacks, ambushes, tricks and traps, etc. If they just wade into combat, they will have a high chance of suffering a lethal encounter.

Depends on what you mean by the implied question
xevenwood wrote: Fri Jan 03, 2020 10:11 pm like how open Basic Fantasy is for people to access and play.
The pdf's are free, all of them. There is the odt (LibreOffice file format) source files posted with the pdfs so you can edit them to reflect your game. You can purchase the core rules for about 5 dollars on amazon and lulu.

For what posts to look at, I would suggest digging around in the workshop forum and reading what catches your eye.
xevenwood

Post by xevenwood »

Thanks Metroknight, I'll keep the lethal nature of the game in mind. I'll also have to dig around the workshop too.
Metroknight

Post by Metroknight »