New to DMing and in need of tips

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
GrimlinJoe

New to DMing and in need of tips

Post by GrimlinJoe »

I'm still a bit new to the ttrpg scene and so far my only experience with Basic Fantasy stems from a few solo sessions based on a "campaign" that I've been storyboarding and work shopping for a few months now. I recently met some people through discord who are also newer to Basic fantasy and were looking to start with some play by post sessions where I would DM.

My problem that I'm running into is that I have plenty of inspiration to create characters and stories and master plots but when it comes to structuring it into campaign for other players I begin to doubt what I have put together and that it might now actually work well to be played as a campaign.

I've already created a world and a region, a central antagonist and starting quest line. A majority of the campaign outside of primary questline would be mostly random generation as to not railroad the party. I've placed in a few ethical choices for the party to have to make that would influence the story a bit and once we come to the end of this chain of events it would open up the rest of the world. I made it so as they get closer to the end it would give me a better idea as to where to grow the story based on what I have learned from the sessions and the party members.

So I now all that sounds like a have a grasp on what I'm doing but once I put it into a campaign layout I instantly feel like I won't know how to guide the story.

Is this a confidence issue? Any tips if you have any would be much appreciated. Maybe just new DM jitters?
CptClyde

Re: New to DMing and in need of tips

Post by CptClyde »