Favourite tools for adventure/campaign/world design?

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
Mental Elf

Favourite tools for adventure/campaign/world design?

Post by Mental Elf »

Hi all, noob here, first post.

Back after 30 years away from RPGs, and going to start a group with some friends. I have some basic ideas for a world setting, and some original adventure ideas that I want to realise. What digital tools, programs and apps (for Windows) do you reccomend for the creative design process, to capture ideas, flesh them out, link between sections etc etc? Anything that can help make the complexities logical and provides an inuitive creative process. Doesnt have to be bespoke for RPGs, just ANY program that you've found to be useful. EDIT: ALSO MAPS AND MAPPING TOO!

Ideally I would prefer free/cheap/opensource, and NOT an ongoing subscription service. I really really hate the current subscription and micro transaction business model that is absolutely EVERYWHERE at the moment. My brain, and finances, can't deal with that stuff!

If there is a paid-for tool that you think absolutely justifies the asking price with the sheer useability, and the results it produces for you then by all means I'd like to hear about that too, for future reference in more affluent times :)

Thanks for listening, super happy to have found this community!

-Dave
"I punched a bloke in the face once for saying "Hawk the Slayer" was rubbish. What I should have said is "Dad, you're right, but let's give Krull a try and we'll discuss it later"
- Bilbo Bagshot.
targenthan

Re: Favourite tools for adventure/campaign/world design?

Post by targenthan »

Firstly, as much as I share your detestation of subs and micro-transaction as a business model - I like World Anvil personally.

Getting that out of the way-